To become a Giver- negate economics.

Sometime during my second to last week of Europe, when I was CSing through people’s houses, I realized that deep in side, I’m still a very economic (in more colloquial terms, Asian) thinker. The first few times I CSed I always needed to check myself in not completely exploiting their favors (and food), and remind myself that I need to help them and give a little more.

Sometimes I micro-manage every Euro I have. Attempting to get the most while spending the least. The same way of thinking is used on my other resources such as time and energy. While all this is going on, I’m still in the mentality of “I want to be a giver of this world.”

However, any form of economical decision making puts a focus on the utility (what you get out of something). Emphasis on taking. Maximize the stuff you receive, minimize the things you give. And that clashes with the entire spirit of being a self-less giver who helps the world: emphasis output and giving, with almost no attention to what you receive.

Now, don’t get me wrong. I’m not saying that to become a positive influence on this world people need to completely their way of decision making. But often times whether you are truly capable of selflessness can be reflected upon mini decisions you make. Initially, when I start giving away more spare change to the homeless, or pay a few dollars more for a more sustainable product, I feel guilty for “wasting”. But honestly, what is the value of the item being wasted? Would they not be wasted in some other manner? Do You really need the the extra time/money/energy for yourself and yourself only? More often than not, people find the acts of giving more fulfilling and memorable, than acts of thrift.

Give for the hell of it.
Help someone for the hell of it.
Only when we get ourselves accustomed to the idea of giving is not the same as sacrificing, can there be a more generous spirit in our lives. 
Leave a Reply

